Blogging: Is There Such a Thing as Posting Too Often?

I run a blog (this one, of course) and try to post to it at least twice a week, sometimes three times. There are a number of blogs that post far more often. Some five times a week; others, even several times a day. My purpose for blogging is to gain exposure for my writing. My blog, itself, is not supposed to be my career, but a complement to it. Other bloggers make their living off their blog. I’ve heard, and I kind of assume, that posting only once a week or less is not really worthwhile. Even posting twice a week, on Mondays and Thursdays, seems to be severely limiting. But, as I write fantasy literature, I’ve only got so much time to work on my blog. Twice a week (with an occasional extra) will have to do. Clearly, there is a minimum number you should post if running a blog, but is there a maximum?

Perhaps it is my technological naïvetee, but I seem to have problems keeping up with some of the more numerous blog posters. I own a smart phone, and for a while, I was following certain blogs and having the messages sent to my phone. Because they were posting so often, my inbox was being flooded with updates for each and every post. I finally broke down and set up filters that sent the blog posts to their own individual folder, so at least the primary inbox would remain clear of everything but the most essential e-mails.

I guess the answer to my question depends upon each individual consumer. For me, I like a more sparse number of postings: two or three times a week. It’s easier to keep up with and it’s easier to work into my schedule. Because keeping up on blogs, is almost as essential to my writing career as my own actual blogging. At one point, I didn’t bother following some blogs, or unfollowed others, because they just posted too much. I’ve had to rethink that strategy. I guess it was naïve for me to think that if I was going to follow a blog, I would be able to read every entry that blogger made. That seems more genuine, at least. But there are innumerable bloggers whose stats indicate they are following hundreds or even thousands of other bloggers. It’s almost like reverse spam. I do see the reason it happens, and understand why—and I will probably begin even doing it myself—but it still feels disingenuous.

Under such conditions, where people are seeking to maximize followers and maximize the blogs they follow, it seems that the best strategy is to maximize the number of posts you make. Each post has a chance of picking up more followers for your blog. But I think there is a certain innocence lost. I must wonder what happened to the blog-followers who just kept up with one or two blogs that interested them. Have they become a vanishing breed? If so, is that a good thing, or not? I honestly don’t know.

What do you think?

Tags: , , , , , ,

About atoasttodragons

The author, Matthew D. Ryan, lives in northern New York on the shores of Lake Champlain, one of the largest lakes in the continental United States, famous for the Battle of Plattsburgh and the ever-elusive Lake Champlain Monster, a beastie more commonly referred to as Champy. Matthew has studied philosophy, mathematics, and computer science in the academic world. He has earned a black belt in martial arts.

8 responses to “Blogging: Is There Such a Thing as Posting Too Often?”

  1. Megan Cashman says :

    Blog as often as you want. It’s your life, do what works for you.

    Same goes for following other blogs. I think its best to follow those who actually read your posts, not “like” them for no apparent reason.

    • atoasttodragons says :

      Yeah, I was just tossing the question out there. I wrote this several months and it was collecting dust, so I figured I’d post it. I wrote it largely as a response to some of my “following” experiences. I’d find a cool blog to follow, but they’d post three, four, or maybe more times in one day, every day. The result is my inbox got flooded with notices, and, as I said, I had to set up filters. But even that didn’t work, well. All that being said, I think you’re right. It’s more my problem as a follower of a blog, than it is a concern of the blogger who is blogging. He or she can blog as often as he or she likes… it’s up to me to wade through the posts to find what interests me.

      With respect to your comment regarding following other blogs… yeah, I tend to shy away from liking, and following for no apparent reason. I tend to do most of my “following” by checking the wordpress “Reader,” and following subject headings, not particular blogs. That seems to work well for me.

  2. Juliette says :

    I don’t follow with email, only on reader. I also follow bloggers that I like to read. Some DO post 3, 5 or even a dozen times on some days. Some post a few times a month or less.

    I’m guilty and admit – I post about once a day (on average but I’ve posted 2 posts in a day) but that is the nature of my blog and what my readers seem to like (that is what they tell me).

    I don’t follow everyone who follows me. I don’t want to. Just like I don’t expect everyone I follow to read my strange little blog. That would be just weird.

    To me it isn’t about other bloggers. It is about having fun and maybe providing some entertainment for others along the way – both bloggers and non bloggers. .

    But I agree and you have a very good point about the numbers game some bloggers get caught up in. That sort of takes the magic out of it and removes the real connections we can make as bloggers.

    • atoasttodragons says :

      The post really wasn’t meant as a criticism of anyone’s particular practices, more of a sort of aside. And perhaps, a means to vent. I realize different bloggers blog for different reasons and for some blogging a lot is part of what they do. I mean, I wrote the blog and when I’m on a blog tour I often post twice a day or some such. I follow with the Reader, too, and when you are doing it that way, the problem is almost non-existent. And when you do it by e-mail, the problem can be handled with filters. So, perhaps it’s not a very big problem, but it struck me as interesting.

  3. debyfredericks says :

    People sometimes seem to collect followers like Magic cards, so they can show off their deck. It’s a status thing. I don’t see how they can read every one. Perhaps that isn’t the point.

    For me, I prefer to set a schedule and stick to it, and be reliable. Plus, posting only on Tuesdays and Fridays allows me time to research new material.

    Blogging is like a lot of things writers do to further our careers. It can take over from actual writing. You shouldn’t exhaust your creativity in order to keep an unrealistic schedule.

    • atoasttodragons says :

      Mondays and Thursdays for me. With respect to Followers, they are a little more important than mere status symbols. More Followers means more exposure, means more people reading your work, and theoretically, more sales.

  4. Paul Smith says :

    I must admit that I struggle to write even one post a fortnight at the moment, though recently that’s been largely linked to the fact that I work in retail, and this is a BAD time of year for me to be trying to do anything other than work-eat-sleep. I think you’ve got it right with two hits a week, I reckon much more than that and your fan base is likely to get fed up with trying to keep up, though that may just be me. For me, my aim will be to commit to at least one a week come the new year, otherwise as you say running one of these almost becomes a bit pointless.

Leave a Reply

