Vampire, Werewolf, or Zombie? Which Would You Rather Be?

I haven’t done a completely ridiculous post in quite some time (excepting, of course, on my recent blog tour), so I figure I’m overdue. So, here goes.

 

The question of the ages. You are condemned to live the rest of your life as a monster, but you are given a choice: you can be a vampire, a werewolf, or a zombie. What is your decision?

 

For myself, I’m going with the werewolf primarily because that is the one where you retain the most of your humanity. I mean, a zombie, really? All you have to look forward to is shambling around the countryside, rotting from the inside out, or from the outside in, and looking to feast on brains. Your intellectual capacity is reduced to virtually zero, and you’ve come to accept monosyllabic grunts and groans as the pinnacle of communication. No reading philosophy for you! A step up from that is the vampire. Here, well, you’re dead. According to most traditions, you are incinerated by sunlight so it’s the nightlife for you. You sleep in coffins, and drink human blood. Gone are the days of feasting on hot chicken wings and beer; nope, just blood. Day in. Day out. Although you do have some funky powers, and you have retained your remarkable intellect, you also suffer from a variety of weaknesses, like the previously mentioned sunlight. But also, you can’t enter a building unless invited. You can’t cross running water. You are repelled by holy objects. And most importantly of all: you stink. No matter where you go or what you do, whenever you set up house, you are haunted by that ever-present, hideous odor of the undead. The stuff of rotting corpses and graves. A small price to pay for immortality perhaps, but not an easy one.

 

Compare the above, to the werewolf. Once a month (okay, maybe three evenings a month, one on either side of the full moon, if we are generous), you transform into a hideous beast and roam the countryside looking for someone to rip to shreds. You have little memory of these events, let alone control. The rest of the time, you are basically a human, often with extraordinary strength and keen senses. You can go around in sunlight; you don’t rot; and you don’t stink… although you might have a bad case of fleas. Some traditions hold that you are immortal; others, that you will die in your own time.

 

For myself, immortality does have something of an allure; I could learn a lot in limitless time, but eventually, I think, I’d get bored.

 

I think all three of the above constitute curses. Vampires and werewolves are usually associated with losing your soul… not so sure about zombies. If God is understanding and lets you into heaven after your zombie body is destroyed, then perhaps that’s the way to go. But ignoring afterlife concerns, I’m sticking with the werewolf.

Tags: , , , , ,

About atoasttodragons

The author, Matthew D. Ryan, lives in northern New York on the shores of Lake Champlain, one of the largest lakes in the continental United States, famous for the Battle of Plattsburgh and the ever-elusive Lake Champlain Monster, a beastie more commonly referred to as Champy. Matthew has studied philosophy, mathematics, and computer science in the academic world. He has earned a black belt in martial arts.

12 responses to “Vampire, Werewolf, or Zombie? Which Would You Rather Be?”

  1. Lindsey Clarke says :

    I think I’m going to go with vampire. I would say werewolf but I don’t fancy the pain of the transformation, nor the fur balls *coughs*

  2. Steve says :

    As a kid it was definitely werewolf. Was leaning toward vampire until you mentioned the whole rotting corpse smell. Back to werewolf! Lol

  3. mija1975 says :

    Because we are going with the traditional view of vampires (not the glittery ones) I’d have to go with werewolves too. Although some of the stories about werewolves aren’t all that pleasant either. LOL

  4. eyeohn says :

    I would choose Werewolves!

  5. Shawn says :

    I have always loved the internal struggle between Man and beast that the werewolf represents. But all the philosophical mumbo-jumbo aside, I just want a piece of Little Red. Guess what, girlie! I’M NOT GRANDMA! Muahahaha!

  6. Jeremy says :

    Werewolf, assuming one still has basic control…otherwise death. But I think Twilight and modern vampire stories have glorified vampires far too much. They’re actually pretty evil b*st*rds!

  7. jillcarrollbayoublood says :

    Thanks for liking my blog post! Your blog is awesome.
    Of course if I had to choose between vampire, zombie and werewolf, it would be Vampire! I would not want to decay and fall apart, although I already feel that way as I inch toward 40. I definitely would not want to turn into a wolf and have dog breathe. Thanks for the fun on your blog! I will check out your books as well.

  8. ricky9191 says :

    Besides of the painful transformation I would go with the werewolf to.
    It’s interesting to realise that everyone that replied to this post chose werewolve.
    I also noticed that none of them even consider being a zombie.

Leave a Reply

