Movie Review: Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

I had low expectations for the movie “Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter” because of several movie reviews I read that gave it a less than stellar recommendation. And besides, the concept is just so plain silly, how can you expect a great movie from that? I mean, really? Abraham Lincoln? As a vampire hunter?

 

Well, it’s an original concept, I’ll give it that. I’ve heard the book is really good, and if I had the time, I might actually read it. Anyway, back to the movie. This film tells the story of our sixteenth President, but with a few extra tweaks. Apparently, unbeknownst to us all, good old Honest Abe spent a considerable amount of time hunting vampires in his youth. It begins with the vampire that murdered his mother. Bent on revenge, Abe tries to kill the man with a normal gun, whereupon he has his rear-end handily handed to him by the creature in a fight that nearly costs Abe his life. I’ll leave it there, because I don’t want to spoil too much. Anyway, Lincoln moves to Illinois and takes up hunting vampires as a lifelong vocation. But he soon realizes that the vampire menace is too pervasive for a single man to deal with it alone. This leads him to politics, and on to the Presidency, and on to the Civil War.

 

I have two major concerns with the movie. First, there was a certain lack of cohesiveness to it. The beginning was decent enough. I was intrigued by the vampire hunting and his life in Springfield, but after that, there seemed to be a kind of disconnect with the events of the Civil War. I kind of have the feeling that it would have worked better as a mini-series on TV, because the scope of events was too grand. But that, of course, would be ridiculous. My other concern is something of a moral one. Slavery is such a repugnant practice, injecting vampires into the war that won the slaves their freedom seems to minimize the significance of that war and all that transpired because of it. I’m not sure you really want to do that. It’s a sensitive issue, and not one that sits well with dark humor.

 

Still, I found the movie enjoyable, if not perfect. I’ll give it three and a half stars.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About atoasttodragons

The author, Matthew D. Ryan, lives in northern New York on the shores of Lake Champlain, one of the largest lakes in the continental United States, famous for the Battle of Plattsburgh and the ever-elusive Lake Champlain Monster, a beastie more commonly referred to as Champy. Matthew has studied philosophy, mathematics, and computer science in the academic world. He has earned a black belt in martial arts.

7 responses to “Movie Review: Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter”

  1. sampiper22 says :

    I’m unashamedly looking forward to this film. I have low expectations but the premise is so ludicrous, it’s irresisible!

  2. Michael Bradley says :

    I appreciate your comment on my site. I find your analysis interesting because you saw the movie without the book, unlike me. I missed the cheapening of the freeing of slaves, that is a very good point.

  3. LaTaeya Lane says :

    Hi! I really wanted to see this movie, but since I am expecting my baby any day I could not check it out. I found your review very interesing, and hope that the movie will be on DVD soon. There were a lot of people that were not really sold on the idea of the movie, but I am always willing to give movies a chance expecially a flick about vamps.
    Take Care. Looking forward to reading more from you.

  4. LaTaeya says :

    Hi Matthew, I really wanted to see this movie but since I am expecting my baby any day I was not able to see it. I found your review very interesting and hope that the movie is released on DVD soon. I know that a lot of people were not into the whole idea of Abe being a vampire hunter but I am always willing to give movies a chance especially when it comes to flicks about vamps. I look forward to reading more from you.
    Take Care
    LaTaeya

  5. Tom Young says :

    I always wondering about this movie. Thanks for your review, I feel I get the gist of what happens in it now!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Cebu Movie Guide: July 11-18 « Cebu Live! - July 11, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,145 other followers

